Not by outsourcing alone: top-5 major R&D-centers in Ukraine

The places in Ukraine to engineer the future. Major Ukrainian research and development centers guide.

The term “Hi-tech potential of Ukraine” commonly refers to an army of outsourcing programmers. But this seems to be an erroneous interpretation: in our country there are also engineers, electronics engineers, cyber security specialists and other specialists. Such “knowledge asset” traditionally attracts major western IT companies. But if just several years ago the main tendency was “brain drain” to the West, today foreign developers of hi-tech products and electronics are ready to open R&D centers directly in Ukraine.

Samsung is not the only major player to place its R&D centers in our country. For example, not so long ago the investment company Siguler Guff announced the sale of its portfolio company Slice to Japanese internet corporation Rakuten. Slice is a famous eСommerce-startup, which has attracted more than $30 mln investments from venture capital funds. The company has developed an application which helps the users to track the delivery of goods as well as to store their purchases activity. The project has an immediate relation to Ukraine: the major part of the Slice engineering team works in Odessa.

AVentures Capital Fund named five major research and development centers in Ukraine.

1. Samsung Electronics

100554445-samsung-hq-sign-getty.1910x1000

  • Specialization profile: electronics
  • Headcount: 425 000
  • Headquarters: South Korea
  • R&D in Ukraine: Kiev and Kharkov

Samsung has opened in Ukraine one of the major R&D-centers in Europe. In May of 2013, when the center was launched, it had more than one thousand specialists working in Kharkov and Kiev branches.

The information about the engineering activity of the Ukrainian division is strictly classified. The common knowledge holds that some research in the field of “computer vision” including engineering of target tracking, surveillance, identification and classification devices, as well as generation of graphical 3D-interfaces and applications for multimedia is underway. Besides, some solutions on devices convergence and information security are also being developed.

2. NetCracker

netcracker

  • Specialization profile: engineering of SW for telecom-operators in the USA, Canada, Western Europe and Australia
  • Headcount: over 2000
  • Headquarters: Boston, the USA
  • R&D in Ukraine: Kiev, Odessa and Sumy

The main developments on engineering of multi-module telecom-operators service management systems are carried out by 750 Ukrainian specialists in three R&D-center divisions located in Kiev, Odessa and Sumy.

3. Aricent

aricent-office-gurgaon

  • Specialization profile: industrial design, engineering of SW for telecom-operators and service providers
  • Headcount: 10 000
  • Headquarters: Redwood, the USA
  • R&D in Ukraine: Kiev and Vinnitsa

This is one of the major companies with such specialization profile. One of its latest products is the new Android smart phones interface for the Japanese corporation Sharp. Famous companies from Fortune 500 list, such as Disney, Microsoft, AT&T, General Electric, HP, Logitech, MTV, Yahoo! and UBS are among its clients. 700 Ukrainian specialists, who engineer SW for telecom, medicine, mass-media, energetics, consumer electronics and other industries, work in Kiev and Vinnitsa centers which form a part of Frog Company that belongs to Aricent.

4. SysIQ

sysiq

  • Specialization profile: engineering of eCommerce-solutions
  • Headcount: unknown
  • Headquarters: San-Francisco, the USA
  • R&D in Ukraine: Kiev, Vinnitsa, Chernigov, Lugansk, Uzhgorod and Mariupol

SysIQ was founded in the USA by a former Ukrainian Igor Gorin in 2000. The company opened sales offices in the USA and Germany, where the main SysIQ clients are concentrated. All engineering and clients support services are carried out in Ukraine by 400 specialists working in SysIQ offices located in Kiev, Vinnitsa, Chernigov, Lugansk, Uzhgorod and Mariupol.

5. Wargaming

wot

  • Specialization profile: development of online games
  • Headcount: 3 400
  • Headquarters: London
  • R&D in Ukraine: Kiev

Byelorussian computer games engineering company has entered the world game industry; World of Tanks (2010) has ranked the company as the major studio in CIS. Today WoT active users exceed 60 mln and the company’s last year income totals 218 mln euro. The founder, Victor Kislyi, plans to double it this year. In 2011 WoT purchased “The First Studio” in Kiev, which is known as the major outsourcing studio in Eastern Europe. While the company headcount totals 3 400, 315 employees work in Kiev at online battle World of Warplanes.

LIGABusinessInform Information Agency

0 7743

Не аутсорсом единым: топ-5 крупнейших R&D-центров в Украине

Где в Украине придумывают будущее. Гид по крупнейшим научно-исследовательским центрам нашей страны.

Когда говорят о хайтек-потенциале Украины, обычно имеют в виду армию аутсорсинговых  программистов. Это неправильная трактовка: в нашей стране кроме программистов есть инженеры, электронщики, специалисты по кибербезопасности и другие специалисты. Такой «интеллектуальный актив»  традиционно привлекает крупные западные IT-компании. Но если еще несколько лет назад основной тенденцией была «утечка мозгов» на Запад, то сегодня иностранные разработчики высокотехнологичных продуктов и электроники готовы открывать исследовательские центры (R&D) непосредственно в Украине.

В нашей стране разместили свои R&D-центры не только такие крупные игроки, как Samsung. Например, не так давно инвестиционная компания Siguler Guff объявила о продаже своей портфельной компании Slice японской интернет-корпорации Rakuten. Slice — известный eСommerce-стартап, ранее привлекший свыше $30 млн инвестиций от ведущих венчурных фондов. Разработанное ими приложение помогает пользователям отслеживать доставку товаров, а также хранить историю своих покупок. Проект имеет непосредственное отношение к Украине: основная часть инженерной команды Slice работает в Одессе.

Венчурный фонд AVentures Capital назвал пять крупнейших научно-исследовательских центров в Украине.

1. Samsung Electronics

100554445-samsung-hq-sign-getty.1910x1000

  • Специализация: электроника
  • Общее число сотрудников: 425 000
  • Штаб-квартира: Южная Корея
  • R&D в Украине: Киев и Харьков

Samsung открыл в Украине один из крупнейших R&D-центров в Европе. В момент запуска центра в мае 2013 года в харьковском и киевском отделениях работало более тысячи специалистов.

Информация о разработках украинского подразделения строго засекречена. Известно лишь, что ведутся изыскания в области «компьютерного зрения», включающие создание машин по слежению, наблюдению, распознаванию и классификации объектов, а также создание графических 3D-интерфейсов и приложений для мультимедиа. Кроме этого, разрабатываются решения по конвергенции устройств и информационной безопасности.

2. NetCracker

netcracker

  • Специализация: создание ПО для телеком-операторов США, Канады, Западной Европы и Австралии
  • Число сотрудников: более 2000
  • Штаб-квартира: Бостон, США
  • R&D в Украине: Киев, Одесса и Сумы

Основные разработки по созданию многомодульных систем управления сервисами телеком-операторов ведутся силами 750 украинских специалистов в трех подразделениях R&D-центра, расположенных в Киеве, Одессе и Сумах.

3. Aricent

aricent-office-gurgaon

  • Специализация: промышленный дизайн, разработка ПО для телеком-операторов и сервис-провайдеров.
  • Число сотрудников: 10 000
  • Штаб-квартира: Редвуд, США
  • R&D в Украине: Киев и Винница

Это одна из крупнейших компаний подобной специализации. Одним из ее последних продуктов является новый интерфейс Android-смартфонов для японской корпорации Sharp. Среди ее заказчиков известные компании из списка Fortune 500, такие как Disney, Microsoft, AT&T, General Electric, HP, Logitech, MTV, Yahoo! и UBS. В Киевском и Винницком центрах, входящих в принадлежащую Aricent компанию frog, работает 700 украинских специалистов, создающих ПО для телекома, медицины, массмедиа, энергетики, потребительской электроники и других индустрий.

4. SysIQ

sysiq

  • Специализация: разработка eCommerce-решений
  • Общее число сотрудников неизвестно
  • Штаб-квартира: Сан-Франциско, США
  • R&D в Украине: Киев, Винница, Чернигов, Луганск, Ужгород и Мариуполь

SysIQ основана в США бывшим украинцем Игорем Гориным в 2000 году. Компания открыла офисы по продажам в США и Германии, там же сосредоточены основные клиенты SysIQ. Все разработки и клиентская поддержка ведутся в Украине силами 400 специалистов, работающих в офисах SysIQ, расположенных в Киеве, Виннице, Чернигове, Луганске, Ужгороде и Мариуполе.

5. Wargaming

wot

  • Специализация: разработка онлайн-игр
  • Число сотрудников: 3 400
  • Штаб-квартира: Лондон
  • R&D в Украине: Киев

Белорусская компания по разработке компьютерных игр вошла в мировую гейм-индустрию и стала крупнейшей в СНГ студией благодаря созданию World of Tanks (2010 год). Ныне активная аудитория WoT превысила 60 млн человек и доход компании за прошлый год составил 218 млн евро. Ее основатель Виктор Кислый планирует удвоить его в нынешнем году. В 2011-м WoT приобрела киевскую «Первую студию», получившую известность как крупнейшая аутсорсинговая студия в Восточной Европе. При общей численности персонала 3 400 человек 315 сотрудников работают в Киеве над созданием онлайн-баталии World of Warplanes.

ЛIГАБiзнесIнформ
Информационное агентство

0 7359